Roger Deakins, Janusz Kaminski Nominated by American Society of Cinematographers, Again
Roger Deakins, Janusz Kaminski Nominated by American Society of Cinematographers, Again

By Steve Pond

LOS ANGELES ( - Roger Deakins received his 11th nomination and Janusz Kaminski his fifth from the American Society of Cinematographers, which included the "Skyfall" and "Lincoln" cinematographers on its list of nominees for the 27th ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement.

Other nominees were Seamus McGarvey for "Anna Karenina," Danny Cohen for "Les Miserables" and Claudio Miranda for "Life of Pi."

"The films our members have nominated are visually distinctive, and very diverse: a theatrical epic, a grand musical, an imaginative 3-D fable, a sweeping biographical drama, and a stylish spy thriller," said ASC president Stephen Lighthill in the press release announcing the nominations. "What they all have in common is that each project's cinematographer contributed captivating visuals that enhanced and elevated the storytelling."

The lineup was the exact same one nominated a few hours earlier by BAFTA.

All five men are past ASC nominees. Deakins' 10 previous nominations include wins for "The Shawshank Redemption" and "The Man Who Wasn't There," while Kaminski has been nominated for three previous Steven Spielberg films and for "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," without a win.

Cohen, McGarvey and Miranda received past nominations for "The King's Speech," "Atonement" and "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," respectively.

Missing from the list of nominees: Mihai Malaimare Jr. for "The Master," Robert Richardson for "Django Unchained," Greig Fraser for "Zero Dark Thirty," Rodrigo Prieto for "Argo" and Wally Pfister for "The Dark Knight Rises."

Since 2000, more than three-quarters of ASC nominees have gone on to receive Oscar nominations, but the two groups have agreed on the winner only five times in the 12 years.

Deakins is on a notably futile streak at the Academy Awards, where he has been nominated nine times without a win. Kaminski has five Oscar nominations and two wins. Cohen, McGarvey and Miranda all received Oscar nominations for the same films for which they were recognized by the ASC.

The ASC Awards will take place on February 10 in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood & Highland Center.

What's on now
National Lampoon's European Vacation
1:00 AM ET National Lampoon's European Vacation
What's on tonight
7:00 PM ET
9:00 PM ET
The Gunman
11:30 PM ET
Eraser (1996)